10 Miles

greysundayThere are runs that make you feel strong and confident. Like you’re flying along on winged feet and could go on forever.

This was not one of those runs.

I’d been dreading this long run since I saw it on my RunKeeper schedule last week. It didn’t help that the weather forecast said ‘light rain’.

I started off in the direction of Hyde Park and almost immediately felt a stitch in my side which persisted for the next 2 miles. As if to confirm that it was a bad day to run, I found myself constantly running into a headwind. It didn’t seem to matter which way I turned, the wind was always there, blowing dirt in my face, pushing me backwards and beating me into submission.

I’ve started this running strategy which I credit for finishing this particular run and not heading home to my coffee éclair. I generally try and get far enough away from the house to make the walk back too tedious. Then I leave my Oyster card at home so I can’t hop on the tube.

It started pouring at about Mile 7. So much for the light rain. I spent the remaining three miles trudging stoically through the downpour, not even noticing the puddles after a while because the puddles were IN my shoes.

The best thing I can say about the run is that I completed it. Which is enough to get me back onto the road for the next run.

Leave a comment